Tetleys and Mentos Viral Ad

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8wKJjZKn-M

I thought this video was pretty entertaining.  It starts off looking like it would be a completely real video.  When the can starts spraying at full blast and doesn’t stop, you realize that the video is not real at all.  The ad made me laugh, because I though it was so stupid, but funny at the same time.  I’m still not sure what type of beverage Tetleys is because I couldn’t understand what the guy said at the beginning of the video, but I am guessing it is some sort of soda.

For me, videos like this catch my attention much more than traditional commercials.  I think it is because they look like they are home-made videos, so I feel like the ad will be more realistic for some reason.  Obviously, that wasn’t the case with this commercial, but it still caught my attention better than a regular commercial would.

About Tayler Z

I am a student at CSU-Pueblo studying Mass Communications with emphasis in integrated communication. It is currently my third year of college. I work at the college radio station Rev 89 and am also the captain of the dance team at the college. I enjoy reading, running, listening to music, hanging out with family, and dancing in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tetleys and Mentos Viral Ad

  1. sender10 says:

    Good video. Do you think ads like this would work on TV, because I agree with you in that they are more attention grabbing?

    I think he says Tetley’s Bitter in the beginning, which from what I found is beer!

  2. John Oreschnick says:

    For some reason I feel the same way when I see viral ads with a toned down and more personal quality. If it looks super in your face I usually just block it out and go on with my day, but if its got the homemade feel like someone just got a camera, recorded like two takes and then made a video, then its more appealing to me because I can relate to it a little better in a sense that just some random everyday person made it instead of a bigtime marketer.

  3. Tyler Lundquist says:

    I do get what you mean about the home move look. I never thought about it but when I think about it, I do think that a home move looking video makes me think the add is more true . Or some thing like that.

Leave a Reply

