Sprite Viral Ad

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SX1-650KIsU

This viral ad was made for Sprite, but you would never know until the very end of the ad.  It is made out to look just like a home video.  I think the video is pretty funny, yet far fetched.  I feel like there is no way the guy would really fly that far from the chair, which makes it seem more unrealistic even though it looks like a home video.  The ad definitely catches people’s attention because it keeps people wondering what is going to happen when it shows the guys tying the band around the statue.  I don’t like how the end of the ad has a bleeped out “bad word”.  I think it takes away from the ad.  It wasn’t necessary at all to cuss in the ad.  I think the ad was funny enough without adding a bad word at the end.

About Tayler Z

I am a student at CSU-Pueblo studying Mass Communications with emphasis in integrated communication. It is currently my third year of college. I work at the college radio station Rev 89 and am also the captain of the dance team at the college. I enjoy reading, running, listening to music, hanging out with family, and dancing in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sprite Viral Ad

  1. Nikki Grams says:

    The thing with ads like this is how it could literally be an ad for anything. Sometimes these ads that seemingly have nothing to do with the product make no sense to me. I will admit that the commercial that had the piano on the stairs seemed to be more connected to the message. This commercial was just plain dumb.
    I would also have to agree with you about the cussing. I don’t think it was needed either.

  2. rachel espinoza says:

    I think a lot of ads are starting to get like this becuase I was watching tv and a lot of the commercials that came on I couldn’t figure out what they were going to be for. But its actually a good idea because I couldn’t turn away from it because I really wanted to find out what it was for.

Leave a Reply

